DIY · in English · interior design

DIY Crochet Basket from T-Shirt Yarn

Suomenkielinen versio täällä

First a quick reminder, that Cause to Wear is also on Facebook, so go and like the page. I’ll be publishing some stuff there that is too short to write a blogpost on. Articles, links and other short tips. I almost have 80 likes already, wuhuu and thank you 🙂

Goes interior designIMG_0006

Today’s DIY is for home. Cutting yarn from old t-shirts and jersey fabrics has bencome the way to upcycle this summer. And I love crocheting from this material! As you might remember, I already started by making a DIY crocheted rug out of an old bed sheet and really got into crocheting. You could make the mentioned rug out of t-shirt yarn as well.

My initial inspiration for upcycling my tees spurred from frustration on what to do with all the t-shirts that have gone bad. They were really not even usable for any kids clothes either as the fabric had lost its good qualities. Downside of fast fashion… But honestly speaking, eventually even the good quality t-shirts will become unwearable. After a lot of thinking I decided to try cutting them into yarn and it worked like charm!

This method would not work for mass production, but at least you can make your own sustainable interior design products this way. Plus I think they are pretty cute. You can make the same designs from ready-made yarn and it will save a lot of time. But at least for me, I get satisfaction of knowing that my efforts have given a new life to something that was going to the bin.

There are lots of other instructions online on crocheted baskets, but I tried to make mine as simple as possible. I have looked into many of the instructions on the internet and used them to create my own out of all the versions I studied. I am no pro at crocheting, so you will probably find better instructions availabe through Google. So hope this will serve at least an inspiration for you!

CUtting t-shirt yarn

There are lots of good ways of doing this, like this one on Pinterest. I have cut my yarn more ad hoc and not really followed any other instruction than keeping it app 3 cm in width. And the material has been ok to work on.

Big basket

IMG_0010Size: Bottom diameter 18 cm, height 17 cm

app. 0,3 kg t-shirt yarn ( estimated 3-4 t-shirts depending on the size)

Crocheting hook size 8 (can be bigger, but you’ll need to adjust the stitches accordingly)

If you are unfamilar with the basic crocheting stitches here is one good video tutorial series. Google is also helpful.

Instructions

Start with crocheting 6 chain stitches and close them into a loop with slip stitch.

Round 1 : 2 single crochets on each chain stitch = 12 stitches. Close round with slip stitch

Rouond 2: Now increase on every other single crochet = 18 stitches. Close with slip stitch

Round 3: Now increase on every third single crochet = 24 stitches. Close with slip stitch.

Round 4: No more increases. Just one single crochet on each stitch. Close with slip stitch. This is the start of the side of your basket.

Round 5- x. Crochet like Round 4 until you are happy with the height of your basket. Make final round with just slip stitches. It makes the top a bit more sturdy I think. My basket has 11 rounds on the side + slip stich round.

Basket from inside:

IMG_0012

Small basketIMG_0006

This basket is handy for keeping small items in order, like pens or hair pins.

Size: Bottom diameter 9 cm, height 10 cm

Supplies as with bigger basket. You’ll only need yarn from one t-shirt to make this though.

Instructions

Start with crocheting 6 chain stitches and close them into a loop with slip stitch.

Round 1 : 2 single crochets on each chain stitch = 12 stitches. Close round with slip stitch

Round 2: Now increase on every other single crochet = 18 stitches. Close with slip stitch

Round 3: No more increases. Just one single crochet on each stitch. Close with slip stitch. This is the start of the side of your basket.

Round 4- x. Crochet like Round 4 until you are happy with the height of your basket. Make final round with just slip stitches. It makes the top a bit more sturdy I think. My basket has 5 rounds on the side + slip stich round.

Basket from other angles:

IMG_0007 IMG_0008

I made these two little baskets witht he same amount of stitches and still they came out different. So instead of counting the rounds meticulously, I recommend you go round-by-round to decide what size baskets you want. And also, it’s worth starting over if the first version doesn’t please you. The crocheting part of this project is the speedy one. Cutting yarn takes the most time.

IMG_0001

So the size depends on how tightly you stitch and how thick yarn you have. My big basket is pretty slack, but I can still use it just fine. I noticed that if you want a more sturdy one, it’s worth choosing a thicker jersey or making your yarn a bit wider when cutting it.

I also made a rug for the bathroom from t-shirt yarn:

20150730_114938

Would you be interested in getting instructions for this one as well? It’s even easier to make than the basket.

Vastaa

Täytä tietosi alle tai klikkaa kuvaketta kirjautuaksesi sisään:

WordPress.com-logo

Olet kommentoimassa WordPress.com -tilin nimissä. Log Out / Muuta )

Twitter-kuva

Olet kommentoimassa Twitter -tilin nimissä. Log Out / Muuta )

Facebook-kuva

Olet kommentoimassa Facebook -tilin nimissä. Log Out / Muuta )

Google+ photo

Olet kommentoimassa Google+ -tilin nimissä. Log Out / Muuta )

Muodostetaan yhteyttä palveluun %s