DIY · in English · maternity · Project

DIY Cowl Maxi Dress with Cap Sleeves

Suomenkielinen versio täällä

For a change I decided to steer away from refashioning and made a dress for myself from a scratch. I found a beautiful diagonally striped jersey knit fabric and decided that it would make me a perfect maxi dress for the summer. My friend Johanna also adviced me to consider the summer 2016 when I will be nursing my baby. In a normal maxi, that would be all but impossible. I’m not a big fan of traditional maternity/nursing wear, but I figured that with cowl neckline I could get both cool looks and function combined. I also wanted small sleeves since I am not too keen on wearing sleeveless.

I made the pattern myself by combining couple of patterns from Pinterest of course 🙂 Free cowl dress pattern and cap sleeve pattern. The combination of these two looks more or less like this:

2015-06-24 20.55.42

I also added the needed length to the dress and used all the width of the fabric I had. I hemmed the back of the neckline and the sleeve openings with a separate strip of fabric and a double needle. I also double stitched the hem of the dress. Here’s the final result of the top of the dress:

2015-06-24 20.54.40

To ensure good fit, I had to make some adjustments and take in the dress slightly as I was sewing. But I think it was worth the trouble. I think the fit is pretty good, wouldn’t you say?

2015-06-24 13.53.56 2015-06-24 13.53.58 2015-06-24 13.54.02

And a styling tip for those cooler summer evenings, just wear it with your favourite jeans jacket:

2015-06-24 13.55.07

What do you think of the final result? Did I manage to create a maternity/nursing dress that doesn’t automatically look like on? That was my ultmate goal anyway 🙂

Vastaa

Täytä tietosi alle tai klikkaa kuvaketta kirjautuaksesi sisään:

WordPress.com-logo

Olet kommentoimassa WordPress.com -tilin nimissä. Log Out / Muuta )

Twitter-kuva

Olet kommentoimassa Twitter -tilin nimissä. Log Out / Muuta )

Facebook-kuva

Olet kommentoimassa Facebook -tilin nimissä. Log Out / Muuta )

Google+ photo

Olet kommentoimassa Google+ -tilin nimissä. Log Out / Muuta )

Muodostetaan yhteyttä palveluun %s